Thursday, March 2, 2017

Ahead of the 2017 MLS season, Toronto FC unveiled a new Wall of Honour on the northeast side of BMO Field on Thursday. Toronto FC President Bill Manning was on-site to speak about the installation and its meaning to the club.

“BMO Field has become an incredible showplace for soccer with an atmosphere that ranks among the best in North America,” said Manning. “We’ve added a Wall of Honour as a place where fans can stop and remember great players and moments in Toronto soccer history. We look forward to adding more names and milestones to the wall as TFC moves into its second decade in Major League Soccer.”

The updated exhibit features iconic moments in the club’s 10 season history and a nod to the Metros-Croatia North American Soccer League (NASL) Championship as well as individual player honours awarded by Major League Soccer. The wall will be updated annually as needed based on new accomplishments and league honours.

The following “Iconic Moments” are included:

  • 1976 Soccer Bowl Champions Toronto Metros-Croatia
  • Toronto FC’s First Home Goal (#9 Danny Dichio on May 12, 2007 at 23:13)
  • 2007 MLS Rookie of the Year #6 Maurice Edu
  • 2015 MLS MVP #10 Sebastian Giovinco
  • 2016 MLS Eastern Conference Champions (TOR v MON 7-5 AGG)

The following “MLS Honours” are included:

  • 2007 MLS All-Stars #7 Ronnie O’Brien
  • 2008 MLS All-Stars #11 Jim Brennan
  • 2009, 2010 MLS All-Stars #14 Dwayne De Rosario
  • 2010, 2011 MLS Best XI #14 Dwayne De Rosario
  • 2014 MLS All-Stars #11 Jermain Defoe
  • 2014, 2015 MLS All-Stars #4 Michael Bradley
  • 2015 MLS All-Stars #17 Jozy Altidore
  • 2015, 2016 MLS All-Stars #10 Sebastian Giovinco
  • 2015, 2016 MLS Best XI #10 Sebastian Giovinco